Chakra 3 - The Solar Plexus Chakra
The solar plexus chakra is associated with the color yellow and its Sanskrit name is Manipura. Its symbol is represented by a lotus of 10 petals. Chakra three takes us further into the individuation process. As a result, this chakra deals with issues of personal power and self esteem. What accompanies issues dealing with self esteem include the fear of rejection, and how we handle criticism. This is the realm of self understanding and self acceptance—as well as the realm of the “inner critic”.  If we do not truly like or accept ourselves, we can “give our power away” in many areas. For example, if one is concerned about image, decision making power is essentially “given over” to what others think about us. We define ourselves by others. As a result, our self esteem suffers, and we can find ourselves in relationships that devalue us.

When we don’t really like ourselves, our decision making capabilities are affected. We have a dense set of nerves in our solar plexus that serves as a “belly brain”, or lower “gut intuition” (which is later refined in the brow chakra). The more we follow our gut instincts, the greater our confidence and sense of personal power. The third chakra governs our personal power in how we relate to the world.

Location Solar plexus

Body parts Digestive system, liver, gall bladder

Glands Pancreas, adrenals

Malfunction Digestive troubles, chronic fatigue, hypertension

Lesson Related to the ego, personality, and self-esteem

Mental and Emotional Issues Trust; fear and intimidation; self-esteem, self-confidence, and self-respect; care of oneself and others; responsibility for making decisions; sensitivity to criticism; personal honor

Orientation to Self Self-definition

Sacred Truth Honor Oneself

Primary Fears Rejection; criticism; looking foolish; failing to meet one's responsibilities; fears related to physical appearance such as the fear of baldness, obesity, or aging; fear that others will discover our secrets.

Primary Strengths Self-respect, self-esteem and self-discipline; ambition; ability to generate action and handle crisis; generosity; ethics; courage to take risks; strength of character

Gemstones Amber, topaz, and apatite

Incense Ginger, woodruff

Element Fire

Planets Mars (also Sun)

A portion of this information was adapted  from Anatomy of the Spirit by Caroline Myss and Wheels of Life by Anodea Judith.

Related Articles
The Chakras - eBook
The 7 Chakras
Chakra Symbols and Sanskrit Names
Chakra 1- The Root Chakra
Totems - First Chakra Social Symbols
Chakra 2 - The Sacral Chakra
Chakra 4 - The Heart Chakra
Chakra 5 - The Throat Chakra
Chakra 6 - The Third Eye Chakra
6th Chakra Over-activity - Grounding Yourself
Unblocking the 6th (Third Eye) Chakra
Chakra 7 - The Crown Chakra
Chakra Balancing With Crystals
Opening the Chakras Through Mantras
Chakra Affirmations and Meditations
Hunab Ku: 77 Sacred Symbols for Balancing Body and Spirit - Karen & Joel Speerstra

Content copyright © Janet Boyer. All rights reserved. This content was written by Janet Boyer. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission.