Chakra 4 - The Heart Chakra
The heart chakra is associated with the color green and its Sanskrit name is Anahata. Its symbol is represented by a lotus of 12 petals. The fourth chakra deals with emotions and emotional development, and is an energetic “bridge” between the lower chakras and upper chakras. It is also a central “powerhouse”.

The fourth chakra is the area of “matters of the heart”, which include jealousy, envy, love, and abandonment, and hope. Of all the Archetypal energies, it’s usually the Wounded Child that leads us into the core of this chakra. Am I lovable? Am I capable of love? What do I need to do be loved? are all fourth chakra questions. When are truly healed, seeing ourselves as whole and not “wounded”, then we are in a position of self-love. In that state, we can then enter healthy relationships because we’re not using our wounds to “get” love for our inner child, nor are we using our wounds for emotional leverage.

Location Heart

Body Parts Lungs, heart, circulatory system, arms, hands, breasts

Glands Thymus

Malfunction Asthma, coronary disease, lung disease

Lesson Related to love, forgiveness, and compassion

Mental and Emotional Issues Love and hatred; resentment and bitterness; grief and anger; self-centeredness; loneliness and commitment; forgiveness and compassion; hope and trust

Orientation to Self Self-acceptance

Sacred Truth Love is Divine Power

Primary Fears Fear of loneliness, commitment, and "following your heart"; fear of not being able to protect oneself emotionally; fear of betrayal or emotional weakness. Weakness in this chakra can lead to jealousy, bitterness, anger, and inability to forgive others or self.

Primary Strengths  Love, forgiveness, compassion, dedication, inspiration, hope, trust, and the ability to heal oneself and others.

Gemstones Emerald, tourmaline, jade

Incense Lavender

Element Air

Planets Venus

A portion of this information was adapted  from Anatomy of the Spirit by Caroline Myss and Wheels of Life by Anodea Judith.

Related Articles
The Chakras - eBook
The 7 Chakras
Chakra Symbols and Sanskrit Names
Chakra 1- The Root Chakra
Totems - First Chakra Social Symbols
Chakra 2 - The Sacral Chakra
Chakra 3 - The Solar Plexus Chakra
Chakra 5 - The Throat Chakra
Chakra 6 - The Third Eye Chakra
6th Chakra Over-activity - Grounding Yourself
Unblocking the 6th (Third Eye) Chakra
Chakra 7 - The Crown Chakra
Chakra Balancing With Crystals
Opening the Chakras Through Mantras
Chakra Affirmations and Meditations
Hunab Ku: 77 Sacred Symbols for Balancing Body and Spirit - Karen & Joel Speerstra

Content copyright © Janet Boyer. All rights reserved. This content was written by Janet Boyer. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission.